You are here

The Czech Technical University in Prague (CTU) is one of the biggest and oldest technical universities in Europe.

CTU currently has eight faculties (Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Nuclear Science and Physical Engineering, Architecture, Transportation Sciences, Biomedical Engineering, Information Technology) more than 18,000 students.


For the 2019/20 academic year, CTU in Prague is offering its students 170 accredited study programmes and of which is 53 in foreign languages. CTU educates modern specialists, scientists and managers with knowledge of foreign languages, who are dynamic, flexible and can adapt quickly to the requirements of the market.

CTU currently occupies the following positions according to QS World University Rankings, which evaluated 1604 universities worldwide: CTU is 432nd globally in this year’s QS World University Rankings, and 9th in the Emerging Europe and Central Asia region. For Engineering – Civil and Structural – 151st to 200th position; Engineering – Mechanical – 201st to 250th position; Engineering – Electrical – 201st to 250th position; Physics and Astronomy – 201st to 250th position; Natural Sciences – 283rd; Computer Science and Information Systems – 251st to 300th position; Mathematics and Material Sciences – 301st to 350th position, and Engineering & Technology – 256th position.

Content owner: Andrea Vondráková